Home of the Hanuman

pull up a comfy chair.

Scrobbling from a Nokia N95 to last.fm

with 3 comments

You know when you search the whole of the big massive internet looking for something and can’t find it because it simply doesn’t exist? No? just me then. Trouble is I’m not smart enough to make the things I want and have to keep looking until somebody does.

What am I talking about? Let me explain. I’ve long been a fan of and using last.fm to track the music I’ve been listening to. Up until recently I was doing this using the last.fm scrobbler plugin to iTunes which picked up on what I listened to on the computer or my iPod quite nicely. I was also using the last.fm Facebook application and the “what I’m listening to” to share my so-called tastes with my pals on Facebook.

The problem is I have quite an old 3G iPod and I have stopped using the big old desktop PC to sync it via Firewire. Over time my iPod battery has deteriorated significantly and I have already replaced it myself once about 18 months ago now, and it’s already due for another replacement so it won’t hold charge for long enough to actually sync. Also the 3G iPod only charges over firewire and then it’s only over the big hefty 6 pin connector rather than the dinky 4 pin connector my laptop has so I can’t charge whilst I sync anymore. As a result I’ve been manually dumping my music onto my Nokia N95 mobile and downloading podcasts direct to it over WiFi. But I’ve not been able to scrobble what I’ve been listening to through to last.fm and then onto my Facebook. Until now that is……

A chap from Brazil has finally developed an application called ASPY Player that has last.fm scrobbing built in for Series 60 devices such as the N95. He’s up to Beta 3 and it works (although there’s still a few issues). Only trouble is that due to something that I don’t understand about signing applications the .sis file you can download doesn’t work so you have to also download python, install ASPY player to that and run it as a script. Bit tricky to work out what to actually do but this post explains it far better. If it helps anybody else who’s wanting to try this you’ll find there are several versions of the python files available but for a Nokia N95 you want the ones that are for Series 60 3rd Edition.

Written by ukenaut

March 31, 2008 at 11:36 pm

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. heya bud
    Ya, I understand exactly what you are saying 🙂 I just did a search on google to try to find a completely toned down page of just my recently paged tracks and found your blog posting from last week. I’ve looked all over for scrobbling on mobile phone and could probably help you. Have you heard of rockbox? Is a ipod firmware replacement, which among lots of other great updates, lets you scrobble, from what I understand. Also, isn’t there a iTunes plugin for scrobbling? I have been kicking myself for getting a cellphone that doesn’t do java (it does let me store mp3s on my memory card and has a reasonable music player, at least.) Hope you’ve had luck, I’m addicted to last.fm as well.

    Q

    April 8, 2008 at 7:36 am

  2. Hi,

    I just found Mobbler : http://www.symbian-freak.com/downloads/freeware/cat_s60_3rd/descriptions/music/mobbler_free_mobile_last.fm_scrobbler.htm
    just clic, install, log in to lastfm, and listen to music with queued or live scrobbling.
    the aspy player sounds great but has too many issues for installation.
    I just felt in love with mobbler lol
    give it a try

    eskimo

    November 6, 2008 at 5:28 pm

  3. Interesting article, i have bookmarked your blog for future referrence 🙂

    How to unlock a phone

    March 15, 2009 at 10:36 pm


Leave a Reply

